TVH Community Champion turns wall into a work of art


A young resident in front of the mural he helped create

A Slough 18 year old has turned a graffiti-covered wall into a work of art, thanks to Thames Valley Housing (TVH).

Helped by over 30 young people from the area, Devante Ballah, a TVH resident and a new Community Champion for TVH, set about creating a mural.

Residents in Moray Drive,Slough, had told TVH they wanted to get rid of graffiti on a wall in their local park as part of brightening the whole area up.

Devante said, “After a discussion with residents about what they wanted, Neequaye Dsane, who is the Community Investment Officer at TVH, asked me to put together a community mural project.

As well as creating the mural, we included free half term activities so local young people could learn about the history and the different techniques of graffiti as a proper art form.

Devante said, “It was great to see so many children and young people coming to help with the project.   It shows that they really care about the estate and the local community.   I will be working with Thames Valley Housing to organise more community projects in the summer”.

Neequaye Dsane said, “This is part of our Community Champions Project, which supportsSlough residents to make positive improvements to their communities, and is a brilliant example of it.  The young people were really enthusiastic about finding a solution to the graffiti and instrumental in deciding what that would be.  We often here negative stories about young people, so it’s fantastic to be part of something so positive.”

If you know a TVH resident living in Slough who you think would be interested in improving their local community, then please get them to contact Neequaye Dsane on 07918 905 746 or email him at

– Ends –

Editors notes

Thames Valley Housing Association (TVH), based in Twickenham, South West London, was founded in 1966.The association owns, manages and administers loans for over 14,000 properties in London, Berkshire, Surrey, Hampshire, Oxfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Wiltshire and Sussex.


Comments are closed.